Broad Ripple History
search menu
Pictures, Stories, Maps, and more
Brought to you by Broad Ripple Publishing

Broad Ripple Village Association
The Broad Ripple Village Association (BRVA) is a neighborhood association for Broad Ripple Village on the north side of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana. It represents an area bounded by Kessler Boulevard on the south, Meridian Street on the west, White River on the north, and Evanston Avenue on the east. The BRVA is a volunteer association, except for the executive director position. Annual dues are paid by residents and businesses. The BRVA currently has two public meetings per year, one in the spring and one in the fall, usually held at the Indianapolis Art Center. The fall public meeting includes an election for the open spots on the board of directors.

2021 staff:
Kent Springer, Interim Executive Director

Board of Directors:
Garrett Lawton, President
Tom Drew, Vice President
Joshua John, Treasurer
Rachel Hickey, Secretary
David Amstutz
Nick Bennett
Thomas Gray
Matt Hornyak
Sarah Myers
Mike Simmons
Casey Springer
Kate Stephens
Santina Sullivan
Kip Tew
Karen Valiquett
Jordan Williams

History of the organization
The first business association in Broad Ripple was the Broad Ripple Businessmen's Association, created before 1950. The BRVA was informally organized in 1969 by a group of local business owners and managers. Sometime in the next few months, the organization was incorporated. It was registered with the Indiana Secretary of State in 1970. One of the persons behind the founding of the BRVA -- who became its first president -- was Linda (Arthur) Osborne. Linda's parents, Amos and Leola Arthur, were the owners of the Fountain Square store, Arthur's Music, and Linda managed their Broad Ripple "branch."

Past and Present Presidents:
Garrett Lawton (2020 - 2021)
Joshua John (2018 - 2019)
Mark Wolf (2017)
Kent Springer (2016)
Elizabeth Marshall (2015)
Justin McKeand (2014)
Jay Wetzel (2013)
Mark Wolf (2011 - 2012)
Elizabeth Marshall (2009 - 2010)
Ellen Morley Matthews (2005 - 2008)
Brad King (2003 - 2004)
Rob Sabatini (2002 - 2003)
Van Kirby (2000 - 2001)
Ed Cheikh (1997 - 2000)
Rick Rising-Moore (1992 - 1996)
Bill McLane (1988 - 1992)
Rush Williams (1988)
Tom Bardach (1987)
Rush Williams (1985 - 1986)
Bill Fatout (1984 - 1985)
Jean Adams (1982 - 1983)
John O'Hara (1981 - 1982)
Brenda Garvey (1980-1981)
Philip Slates (1979-1980)
Dayle Gravenstreter (1978-1979)
Wayne Moss (1975-1976)
Linda Osborne (1972 -1974)
Charles Giddens (1971-1972)
Linda (Arthur) Osborne (1969 - 1970)
(dates before 2002 were derived from various sources)

Past and Present Executive Directors & Administrative Coordinators:

Summer Keown (2021)
Colleen Fanning (2018 - 2020)
Brooke Klejnot (2012 - 2018)
Sharon Butsch Freeland (2006 - 2012)
Brad Hopper (2004 - 2005)
Elaine Zukerman (1997 - 2006)

Broad Ripple Chamber of Commerce
Past Presidents:
K.V. Ammerman (also BRHS principal) (1927)
George Armantrout (1925)
John Dawson (1923e)

Broad Ripple Chamber of Commerce
Members: Grover C. Parr - vice president (1925) H.Y. Tinch - secretary (1925) Claude Myers - treasurer (1925)